Smith Wins Beaumont Trophy

Dion Smith secures an impressive victory at the Beaumont Trophy after a gutsy solo attack, cruising over the finish line to claim the top spot on the podium.

It was a dry start to the day in Northumberland as the peloton prepared themselves for the 187km course that lay ahead. Rolling out of the village of Stamfordham at 1.15pm riders were set to complete a combination of two circuits, starting with one small 22km loop. Venturing out onto the larger loop 36 km’s in length, they would face a number of official KOM’s including the famous Ryals as they tackled the larger loops a total of 4 times before one final 22km lap.

As they topped the Ryals climb for the final time, it all kicked off  a batch of 15 riders including Dion Smith, James Oram, Hayden McCormick and Pete Williams descended off Ryals gaining 1 minute and 20 seconds on their nearest rivals.Managing to hold on to a 1 minute gap with 20km to go the lead group left each other no breathing space with plenty of attacking which eventually saw 2 lone riders gain a 10 second lead. In a brave move, young kiwi Dion Smith attacked the group and bridged the gap to the 2 leaders with 10km remaining, closely followed by Liam Holohan of Team Wiggins to create a strong group of 4 which held a slender 7 second advantage. 5km to go and Dion Smith put in one final solo attack, taking a comfortable solo victory over the line.
Pete Williams sprinted in to claim 4th and James Oram close behind in 6th position.